With Rock upside down, which state is ready to ban abortion? : Shot

Twenty-two states have laws that would prohibit or limit abortion.

Source: Guttmacher Institute; Credit: Heidi Chu and Christine Gourle / NPR

Twenty-two states have laws that would prohibit or limit abortion.

Source: Guttmacher Institute; Credit: Heidi Chu and Christine Gourle / NPR

Twenty-two states have laws that would immediately ban or pave the way for prohibiting or strictly restricting their access to abortion, after overturning a landmark Supreme Court decision on Friday. Rowe vs. Wade. This is a group that advocates the right to abortion, according to research by the Guttmacher Institute. Several additional states appear to be able to impose new sanctions.

The court said Dobbs vs. Jackson Women’s Health Effectively reverses the precedent set by the 1973 Supreme Court judgment Rowe vs. Wade, Which confirms that a woman has the right to seek an abortion unless the fetus can be “well” outside the uterus. This paved the way for the states to enact many laws that were tied to the courts and to pass new ones.

How states will prohibit or restrict abortion

State laws prohibiting or severely restricting access to abortion fall into three broad categories: 1) “Trigger ban”, which in most cases prohibits abortion and is effective with its fall. Rowe; 2) Pre-Rowe The book is still banned; And 3) more recent legislation that restricts abortion to early gestational age or prohibits it almost entirely. Some states have multiple laws in this department.

Thirteen states have bans, laws that take effect immediately, by state official certification or after a 30-day waiting period, if Rowe In turn, Elizabeth Nash, a state policy analyst at the Gutmachar Institute, said that once they are in place, these laws will surpass other laws in state books.

“The trigger ban applies throughout pregnancy,” Nash said. “It doesn’t have a gestational age [restriction]”

Five additional states that do not have trigger laws pre-Rowe Laws prohibiting abortion that can now be enforced depend on state legal action or judicial enforcement. (Arizona pre-Rowe Books have been banned since before it became a state.)

Many states have passed laws that prohibit abortion after the initial gestational age, although most states repeal trigger bans. However, between the states Without The Trigger Act, four of which contain six-week bans that could be effective, presumably excluded legal challenges against them.

Sixteen states and the District of Columbia currently have laws that protect the right to abortion, before most fetuses function, according to the non-partisan Kaiser Family Foundation.

How quickly trigger legislation can be enacted

In three states – Kentucky, Louisiana and South Dakota – trigger laws are set to go into effect immediately, Gutmachar Nash said in an interview with NPR last month. All three prohibit direct abortion, except in the face of threats to the mother’s life.

In the other three states, the abortion ban is automatically enforced within 30 days. Those states are Idaho, Tennessee and Texas. (In Texas, abortion services have already been cooled by a state law that allows private citizens to sue abortion providers.)

In the remaining seven states, some sort of certification process is required. This means that a state official – such as a governor, attorney general or law-making official – must be certified or approved before the trigger law can take effect. Those states are Arkansas, Mississippi, Missouri, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Utah and Wyoming. (Last month, Oklahoma also passed the country’s toughest abortion law, which is tougher than Texas.)

Enforcement of pre-row abortion prohibition

Some states have laws that existed before Rowe Rulers and books remain on, unenforced, ever since. Nash of the Gutmachar Institute says whether these laws will take effect could depend on current political trends in those places.

In states like Michigan and Wisconsin, pre-Rowe The abortion ban is still technically part of state law. But Democrats who are in the governorship and attorney general’s office may not be interested in enforcing them, he said.

Among others, in West Virginia and Arizona, Republicans may press for enforcement or request a court to allow previously challenged laws to take effect.

“I want to emphasize that this will happen fairly quickly. We’re not talking about months and years. We’re really talking around days and weeks,” Nash said.

How early pregnancy abortion is prohibited abortion is limited

Restrictions on abortion after the age of six or eight weeks of abortion severely restricts patients ’access to abortion, narrowing the window to access abortion for a few weeks. The sanctions that were passed in several states were in force in all courts except Texas, but may now take effect depending on the court’s action.

The onset of pregnancy is measured as the first day of a woman’s menstrual cycle. Pregnancy can occur during ovulation or within two weeks of the first day of the menstrual cycle. It is possible to detect pregnancy in about four weeks from the first day of a woman’s period. This means that while states prohibit abortion after six weeks, a pregnant woman who decides to have an abortion usually has about two weeks to get one in that state.

Additional report by Sarah McCamon of NPR.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.